For The Love Of An Anti Selfie

image

Just the other day it hit me, I can not compete let alone compute with the “selfie” brigade. Each time I look, a new one is posted, a pout, a bat of an eye, a sideways, forward leaning, hide the wrinkles, suck in the chin type of one *Gasp*.
So today, I changed my gravitar to what my husband calls the bag lady selfie, strictly speaking he took it so it probably doesn’t qualify as a Kim Kardashian style Selfie at all. But no one in their right mind would want a photograph of themselves looking (as my Dad god rest him would have said) ‘like a bugger’… would they?

wp-1454948210695.jpeg

A freezing wind was blowing across the small town of Dinard on this day in March. The rain had been shooting sideways and found it’s way under my eyelids; it was cold.  Just before the photo shoot… We were in an open topped car looking for a super march`e. I was being facetious about driving around in the cold and possibly dying in the attempt to purchase the gubbins required to make an impromptu picnic lunch; so added layer upon layer of clothing while we went along, still maintaining my temperature to be around the nose dropping off frostbite levels. Eventually we spotted a small store with a flickering light on the sqeaking sign. I lept from the car in haste, forgetting or not caring how I looked and entered. Our shed at home would be bigger than the store, but I managed to find ham, pat`e, bread, wine and grapes, as you would in France. After packing my bag I stood by a lamppost waiting  to be picked up. Around and around the fountain he drove taking photo’s, while he grinned and waved, but the crosser I got the more he drove around.
“Click” job done, the cross patch baglady was born. Now I pop it on my gravitar to say,” Hey” so what, it’s me in my ordinariness; if anyone thinks the word “ordinary” is the correct terminology for a loon.
Have you an anti selfie? Is your other half holding it hostage dangling it as a threat? If so why care, just put it up, we can call it “Anti Selfie Day”.

Incase you’re wondering… The only place the photo described is left, is on my gravitar here, a virus wiped out a huge amount of pictures on John’s computer and as yet I haven’t found a way to retrieve it.

Posted from WordPress for Android

18 thoughts on “For The Love Of An Anti Selfie

  1. Oh dear. As someone who has just taken – and posted – their first ever selfie (my gravatar updated at the weekend!) – I feel somehow ‘guilty as charged’ m’lud. I was so excited to have a photo of myself that I actually liked – even one taken my my own fair hand – that I guess I just forgot myself!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry to hear about virus. When did John notice that the virus showed up? Is he running Windows or Apple/Mac/Air? If Windows, try to run System Restore, select a date as restore point 4-5 days after the pics were uploaded. If they don’t appear, run again for the previously chosen restore date, sometimes this works. In your case, I will pray hard for recovery. ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) georgie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anti selfie day… What a great idea. I think like many others I too hate having my photo taken, unfortunately I seem to surround myself with people that love taking selfies, so I’m documented a little too much for my liking.

    Like

Leave a Reply Thank you for visiting please take a look around while you are here, it could be fun.

