For The love Of Milly.

Press Here to link up with the challengers. Below Is my effort for the Wednesday writing challenge I hope you enjoy. The prompt is romance.

writers quote wednesday writing challenge

image

At lunch time Bob tied a napkin beneath her chin, he softly crooned as he spooned sustenance between her lips. With the touch as soft as mallow fluff he caught the spillage. I watched Bob care for his wife over many years, he accepted help only when he had to. Milly would batt her lashes and flirt with Bob openly, I am sure she believed they were alone. Milly whispered, and giggled, and sometimes could be heard singing to Bob. What they had together was gentle, the connection was tangible.
Bob and Milly were the only couple in the home where I work, Milly in the early days was fit and able, she took an active roll in the running of the home. Bob for the first four years went out to work; until Milly’s episodes became continual.

When Bob was out or having a break we nurses, would cover our uniforms and distract her by being her guests. Milly in her own space was calm and liked the familiarity, but was better when Bob was near.
Milly was failing fast and Bob continued with the rituals she expected. Many a day I came on duty to see him tired and worn down. I took in a tray of tea and cake with the intention of assesing discreetly the situation and offering support. Milly was unresponsive it was as If I didn’t exist She lay very still her eyes would flicker for a moment each time she heard his voice. He bathed, and brushed, stroked, and dressed her. For six days he never left her side, the doctor had been and we all waited in a hushed silence for the inevitable . We worried for him wondered how he’d be once she passed. I tapped the door but it remained closed, I opened it a crack and could see him cradling her in his arms in bed with her, his face pressed into her hair.

At the funeral I stood next to him, the small chapel was full of flowers and sun streaked through the glass as bright cheerful hymns were played and kind words spoken. Bob took to the pulpit and said goodbye.
Bob and five of us took the mini bus back to Green Hays. I sat in his sitting room for the longest time reminiscing, not maudlin but good happy talk and I asked…
“How did you do it Bob, where did you get the stamina to keep on for years?”

“Well, once her memories disappeared it was my place to make her love me every day, so each day was my first date, and when ever she was to pass she would know… to-day she was loved.”

24 thoughts on “For The love Of Milly.

  1. That is such a beautiful, heart warming story. And even more so as we are right now watching my husband’s parents living this reality out in their lives as she fades day by day after over 65 years together 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ellen, that wasn’t a challenge to write, it couldn’t have been. It was blessed reading. My husband and I will be married 30 years in July. It is still bliss for us, too. But reading this piece energized me to work at daily loving him over and over again. Thanks so much for sharing. In this present age it’s wonderful to read about what real love is. Great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello, thank you for coming and leaving nice comments. It was a struggle for me, romance as most think of it really is not where my head wants to be so I rose to said challenge with a twisted view. I am glad you felt what I tried to convey. And *claps* thirty years … fantastic!

      Like

  3. I am technically taking an internet break today to work on my latest novel, but checked messages and saw you had come up with your piece. I think you would do great participating in my Fiction challenge I put out on Fridays that run through the following Wednesday. Check it out. Very nice work you did here.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply Thank you for visiting please take a look around while you are here, it could be fun.

