A Present that made them smile.

I traipsed along the high street looking for something cool,

Wanting to find the perfect thing the exception to the rule.

Searching for a talking point the item that would hold pride of place,

After fourteen shops I was sure to be losing face.

Tired from a six hour journey and legs that no longer wanted to walk.

I dialled my daughters number… for a probing talk.

We beat around the bushes side swiped at my subtle plan

Then she asked me what I wanted “just say it if you can”.

Reluctantly I asked what the heck could I buy?

She said “a hat, you silly” I thought that I would cry.

Armed with an idea for the item I marched on once again,

On cobbled surfaces that would floor many weakened men.

A mother on a mission to deliver the perfect style,

It had to be special … after trying all this while.

I returned to my husband to update him on the task

He pretended he understood but his face was a blank mask!

It’s Christmas eve at three O’clock the sky is turning dark

My feet are burning and There’s one shop left across the park.

So I returned to the old town to the shop where I first began,

Where I asked for the hat, from a very puzzled man.

You see he told me quietly as his lip took on a twitch,

He wouldn’t disappoint me, pulling at his sleeve he broke a stitch.

But it isn’t a fashion statement, a cool item that is hot,

But a tea cosy that is worn upon a plump teapot.

“I know ” I shouted wildly, but it is all that you have got

That would look special on her head and not a pot.

So Christmas went with a giggle as my tale took a life of it’s own,

Even two weeks later she is still laughing down the phone.

She stitched up the spout hole and the handle space too

And sent me a picture NOT! to show to you.

Her cosy is real cosy, her smile is more than just a smile

As she dons her new hat and wears it with panache and style.

This silly ditty is a true story! And the cosy was purchased from http://www.whitestuff.com/ … shh! We won’t let on that I posted her photo… will we?

Have you ever given a better talking point at Christmas? Do let me know what it was and how it was received. I will get back quick smart with a response. Happy 2017. X

27 thoughts on “A Present that made them smile.

    • Why I thank you being compared to Seuss is an accolade in its self. My girl is delightful in so many ways but a married woman no longer a child. With two schools under her Headship, with letters strewn after her name and still the heart to humour her mum. X

      Like

Leave a Reply Thank you for visiting please take a look around while you are here, it could be fun.

