I Want To Turn The Clock Back.

image

I want to turn the clock back; to before you went away,

To get the chance to tell you, and beg of you to stay.

I want to turn the clock, to face against the wall

To hope that the sickle, this time, fails to fall.

 

I would cradle your tiny body and together we would sleep,

Beneath the comfy blanket with booties on your feet.

You would recognise me by the noises that I make,

The songs I’d be singing while I baked for you a cake.

 

The house would fill with laughter as I introduced to you,

A sister and two brothers, who would be in love with you.

They’d fight to let me hold you, and smother you in love,

You would have fitted in the family, like a hand into a glove.

 

But clocks don’t go backwards, time refuses to stand still,

Mothers can’t make it happen, we haven’t got free will.

If we did, we would have held you and never let you go,

But you got taken to a corner, of time we’ve yet to know.

 

The sun keeps on shining, as does the falling rain,

The sunflowers still blossom, though not the same.

Growing up a family, with your missing name,

Like gazing at a sunflower through a broken pane.

 

Today, a long past memory was jogged, a never forgotten moment recalled and tears were shed; but all is just as it should be.

26 thoughts on “I Want To Turn The Clock Back.

  1. One of my favorites. Don’t ever become wasted talent. I hope you strive with your gift as ones like me are fortunate to read this. You speak a beautiful pain.sad, lovely and I’m thinking is true. My soft spot goes out to you.

    Like

  2. I’m so sorry for this. This sounds like it was an extremely hard thing to get through. I don’t have kids so I don’t exactly but I know my Mom and Dad lost a baby for me and immediately wanted another because of the loss of the first. Well written poem.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have never before wanted to put pen to paper on this subject. After I had finished I knew it was the right thing for me. Cathartic to say the least. I am pleased you came, thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply Thank you for visiting please take a look around while you are here, it could be fun.

